BVPL Summer Reading program to kick off June 14

Bella Vista Public Library staff members are preparing for adventure with the kickoff of this year’s Summer Reading Program in early June.

The Summer Reading Program has something for all ages and is themed this year “Adventure Begins at Your Library,” emphasizing the outdoors, exploration, and wellness. The program will kick off from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Friday, June 14. The drop-in event will feature Summer Reading Program sign-ups, activity stations, crafts and more.

Pre-registration begins Monday, June 3 through the Beanstack App. 

Throughout the six-week program, staff will host events and interactive programming. The Summer Reading Program concludes on July 26. Prizes will be awarded for all ages who reach their reading goals.

In addition, this year will offer a new wellness program running in coordination with the Summer Reading Program called “Booking it Around Bella Vista.” We will challenge participants to a 100-mile exercise goal during the six-week Summer Reading Program. The first 300 participants to achieve the goal will receive a medal.

ACTIVITIES THIS SUMMER INCLUDE:

Summer Reading Kick-Off Party – Drop in from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Friday, June 14. Registration day for all ages.
End of Summer Reading Block Party – Drop in from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Friday, July 26 for the prize pickup and celebration for all ages.

KIDS ACTIVITIES

  • Pre-School Storytime – 9:30 a.m. & 11:30 a.m. Fridays, ages 0-5 (Special guests: The Amazeum on June 21).
  • Big Kid Storytime – 5:30 p.m. Tuesdays, ages 6-8.
  • Summer Book Club – 5 p.m. Thursdays, ages 8-12.
  • Movies at the Library – 4 p.m. Monday, June 17 and Monday, July 22.
  • STEAM Workshop with the Amazeum – 3 p.m. Wednesday, June 26. Recommended for ages 6-12.
  • Library Lego® Brick Challenge – All day Wednesday, July 3, all ages
  • Wonders of Wildlife Live Animal Program - 12:00 pm and 1:30pm Wednesday, July 3, Recommended for ages 6+
  • Mr. Jeff Science Show – 1 p.m. Wednesday, July 10th at 1:00 pm, Recommend for ages 6+
  • Opera in the Ozarks  - 1 p.m. Wednesday, July 17, Recommended for ages 6+

TEEN ACTIVITIES

  • Teen D&D Club – 2 p.m. Mondays, ages 13-17.
  • Teen Book Club – 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 18 and Tuesday, July 16 (selections made by the Teen Advisory Board).
  • Teen Night – 5:30-7 p.m. Friday, July 7 — Beach Party.

ADULT ACTIVITIES

  • We're Hooked! Crafting Club – 1-2:30 p.m. every Thursday except Independence Day: June 20 - July 25.
  • True Crime Club – 5:30 p.m. Thursday, June 27 and Thursday, July 25.
  • Not Your Mama's Romance Book Club – 5 p.m. Monday, July 8.
  • The Book Was Better Book Club – 5 p.m. Thursday, July 11.
  • Adult Speaker Series, 5 p.m. Monday, July 15 — Rick Echols, Bella Vista Village Property Owners Association Lakes & Fisheries Superintendent, “Bella Vista Fishing.”

*Programs and activities are subject to change.