101 Town Center, P.O. Box 5655, Bella Vista, AR 72714 (479)876-1255

Election filing period approaching

The filing period for running for municipal office is fast approaching and begins Wednesday, July 29. Have you been thinking about your passion for city government, and what you could do for Bella Vista’s future?

There are three seats up for election in 2020:
• Council Member – Ward 1, Position 1 (currently held by Linda Lloyd)
• Council Member – Ward 2, Position 1 (currently held by Jim Wozniak)
• Council Member – Ward 3, Position 1 (currently held by Doug Fowler)

The incumbents for all three wards plan to seek re-election.

To run for a municipal office, one must be a qualified elector, a U.S. citizen and an Arkansas resident who is registered to vote. He or she must reside in the city ward to be represented. He or she must have never been convicted of embezzlement of public money, bribery, forgery or another infamous crime.

Bella Vista is a City of the First Class and operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. The City Council members serve four-year terms and put in place the city’s legislation, codes and budgetary goals that the city’s staff works to uphold. They typically attend one work session and one regular meeting per month, usually at 5:30 p.m. on the third Monday and at 6:30 p.m. the fourth Monday respectively, but are also subject to attending special meetings on occasion. Their actions and activities as council members are subject to the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act, and meetings are open to the public. Their positions are paid an annual stipend but are not eligible for city benefits.

To file, candidates must submit to the Benton County Clerk’s office a petition with no less than 30 signatures from qualified electors of the city in which the candidate files. Bella Vista candidates are elected at large, meaning the entire population of the city votes for each candidate, regardless of the ward in which the voter lives.

The 2020 filing period begins at noon Wednesday, July 29 and ends at noon Wednesday, Aug. 5. The General Election is Tuesday, Nov. 3.